Home » Holy Land » Step 4: Remain grateful: Via Dolorosa
  • Step 4: Remain grateful: Via Dolorosa

    The Via Dolorosa is arguably the most daunting landmark signifying Christ’s sacrifice and redemptive powers. The “painful way” was chosen to remove every thorn, every obstacle, every pain from our lives.

    The “path of grief” was soaked in blood, tears and sweat of the redeemer to pave the way for us to enter the kingdom.

    Think twice before you complain, whine, gripe, express discomfort, dissatisfaction or make yourself unavailable for HIS service.

    HE walked the path so that you didn’t have to. Stay grateful.


    The Via Dolorosa (the way of suffering) takes these pilgrims through tight marketplace streets full of shoppers, citizens, and tourists. Unfortunately, as sincere as they are, and as meaningful as it is to them, it’s not the route Jesus took on that first Good Friday. The key word here is tradition, not historical truth. Scholars disagree on the exact path Christ took. It’s changed many times, from the original course that began on the Mount of Olives in the 4th century (when Constantine legalized Christianity) that had no station stops at all, to the current 14 stops marked by circular bronze disks with Roman numerals embedded in the walls.

    Here are the 14 traditional Catholic Stations of the Cross:

    1 Station: Jesus condemned by Pontius Pilate.
    2 Station: Jesus took up his cross.
    3 Station: Jesus fell for the first time.
    4 Station: Mary watched her son go by with the cross.
    5 Station: Simon of Cyrene is forced to help Jesus carry the cross.
    6 Station: Veronica wipes Jesus’ face.
    7 Station: Jesus falls a second time.
    8 Station: Jesus consoles the crying women.
    9 Station: Jesus falls a third time.
    10 Station: Jesus is stripped.
    11 Station: Jesus is nailed to the cross.
    12 Station: Jesus dies.
    13 Station: Jesus is taken down from the cross.
    14 Station: Jesus is laid in the tomb.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *